The School is mainly targeted at Phd students and young researchers in Differential Geometry. The aim is to expose  the participants to current research with a view to the applications, by starting from a basic level and reaching the latest results. We will host two mini-courses, each consisting of four lectures.  Some short communications will be also scheduled and we will have a poster session.

  Venue , Timetable and Abstracts

The school will start on Monday  24 February  afternoon  and end on Thursday 27  February  afternoon.  The lectures and talks  from Monday to Thursday morning take place in  Sala Principi D'acaia  of University Rectorate,   via Verdi 8 (ground  floor). The talks   on Thursday  afternoon  take place  in Dipartimento di Matematica, via Carlo Alberto 10 map, Aula C (ground floor). 
Timetable  and abstracts

Travel information



University Residence "Olimpia"

Hotel Bologna


 Ilka Agricola (Philipps-Universität Marburg)   Thomas Friedrich (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Non-integrable geometries, torsion, and holonomy (90'/day)
Dirac operators in Riemannian geometry (60'/day)

The slides of the lectures are available at the following link.


Alessandro Gentile, Topology of nonholonomic loop spaces (30')
Cho Hyunjoo, Manifolds with G_2 structures and (almost) contact structures (30')
Daniele Angella,  Cohomological properties of non-Kaehler manifolds  (30')
Evgeny Malkovich, Geometric flows and holonomies (30')
Giovanni Bazzoni,  Some properties of co-Kaehler manifolds   (30')
Irene Sabadini, On the construction of the complex of several Dirac operators  (60')
Martin Callies, Homotopy moment maps for quaternionic geometries and equivariant cohomology  (30')
Maurizio Parton, Spin(9), Rosenfeld planes and canonical differential forms in octonionic geometry  (30')
Nikon Kurnosov, The second Betti number of hyperkaehler manifolds  (30')
Thomas Madsen, SO(3)-structures on  6-manifolds  (30')
Tommaso Pacini,  Coupled flows and almost Kaehler geometry  (30')


The poster session is on Thursday 27  in Aula C starting at 15.

List of posters (updated to 3 February 2014):
Adara-Monica Blaga, Ricci solitons in paracontact geometry
Giulia Di Leo, Antonio Lotta, Riemannian almost CR manifolds with torsion
Adela Latorre, Cohomological decomposition of complex nilmanifolds
Gueorgui Mihaylov,  Constant Torsion Varieties
Alexander Petkov, The Lichnerowicz and Obata Type Results on a Quaternionic Contact Manifold
Alberto Raffero,  Some results on G_2-structures and SU(3)-structures
Kamel Tahri,  Some results of existence of fourth order equation


The registration is closed, due to massive (and unexpected) early demand.


The School is supported by the project (Fondi ex 60%) "Geometrie speciali, flussi geometrici e spazi omogenei" of the University of Turin (2012) and the 2012 Progetto Futuro in Ricerca "Geometria Differenziale e Teoria Geometrica delle Funzioni".

We also acknowledge International Press for offering all participants merchandise discounts (flyer).


  Simon Chiossi, Sergio Console, Anna Fino, Luigi Vezzoni


Elsa Abbena (Università di Torino)
Ilka Agricola (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Rui Albuquerque (Universidade de Évora- Università di Torino)
Amedeo Altavilla (Università di Trento)
Daniele Angella (INdAM)
Mohammed F. A. Attaallah
Giovanni Bazzoni (University of Bielefeld, Germany)
Lakehal Belarbi (University of Mostaganem, Algeria)
Adara-Monica Blaga (West University Timisoara)
Martin Callies (University of Göttingen)
Simon Chiossi  (IndAM, Philipps-Universität Marburg- Politecnico di Torino)
Hyunjoo Cho (NCTS Taiwan)
Muradiye Cimdiker (Kirklareli University)
Giulia Di Leo (Università di Bari)
Ana C. Ferreira (University of Minho, Braga)
Anna Fino (Università di Torino)
Thomas Friedrich (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Sergio Garbiero (Università di Torino)
Letterio Gatto (Politecnico di Torino)
Jakob Geipel  (Philipps-Universität Marburg- Università di Torino)
Alessandro Gentile (SISSA)
Margo Kondratieva (Memorial University  of Newfoundland, Canada)
Nikon Kurnosov (HSE, Independent University of Moscow, Russia)
Samuele Lancini (Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa)
Christian Lange (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Adela Latorre (Universidad de Zaragoza)
Murat Limoncu (Anadolu  University)
Antonio Lotta (Università di Bari)
Thomas Bruun Madsen (Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa)
Evgeny Malkovich (Novosibirsk State University)
Gueorgui Mihaylov (Politecnico di Torino)
Jonas Nordström (Lund University)
Tommaso Pacini (Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa)
Maurizio Parton (Università di Pescara)
Alexander Petkov (Sofia University)
Paolo Piccinni (Università di Roma La Sapienza)
Alberto Raffero (Università di Torino)
Susanna Risa (Università di Roma Tor Vergata)
Irene Sabadini (Politecnico di Milano)
Sergey Sadov (Memorial University  of Newfoundland, Canada)
Reinier Storm (Philipps-Universität Marburg)
Eirik E. Svanes (Oxford University)
Kamel Tahri (Universitè  Abou Bekr Belkaid, Algeria)
Rafael Torres (SISSA)
Siraj Uddin (University of Malaysia)
Yasin Ünlütürk (Kirklareli University)
Luigi Vezzoni (Università di Torino)
Yasemin Yay (Anadolu  University)
Michela Zedda (Università di Torino)